Live Create Believe

Just another awesome site!

Enter The Flu

on January 23, 2013

IMG1379

Two weeks ago my daughter started coming down with something and I figured I was next to get it, which I did the next day. It was a pretty light 3 day thing which was great because we fought it off so quick and we weren’t very ill. Then about 4 days later, I was laying down trying to sleep and I felt tightness in my chest and I kept trying to cough and clear my throat. The next morning it had set in and I was seriously sick. So began the last week of serious illness for me. Thankfully my kiddo only got a few more mild symptoms, mainly cough and fever.

I lost my voice for 4 days and it was replaced with something that sounded like a frog who had lost it’s voice. I was miserable and unable to do much physically. I had body aches, fever, chills, sweats, headache, cough, congestion, sinus pain – in other words, I got the flu bad. I feel like the reason I got it so bad was because my immune system was down from being sick the week before. I didn’t have time for it to fully recuperate.  It was awful to have to still watch kids while sick and try to rest enough to get better. I spent all my free time I could resting. Almost a week later and I am still not 100%, maybe about 75% right now.

I am not a fan of being sick. I don’t like not feeling well or not having energy to do things. I work a lot so that makes it even harder. I’m trying to avoid medicines when possible so I was taking everything natural I could. We loaded up on vitamin c, a natural kids medicine, grapefruit seed extract, probiotics because gut health is linked with your immune system, yogurt, kefir, fresh juice, peppermint tea, local honey and lemon juice, and a humidifier with peppermint oil in it to help as well. We even steamed up the shower and took really warm bathes to help as well. The first time we got sick the natural stuff helped a lot, but the second time it seemed like my immune system needed a lot more help and repair. I recommend the natural stuff if you want to skip OTC or prescription medicines. But if you don’t take care of your immune system it will be harder to fight things off.

We are washing our hands a lot more now to help, and trying to keep up our intake of vitamin c and probiotics to keep a steady immune health. Adequate rest and keeping stress down are important too. I had to stop caring for one child because the parent brought the child sick every single week, and wouldn’t have the child’s nasty cough checked out. The parent worked in a hospital so I was concerned what he was getting sick with and then bringing here. I am responsible for the health of all the kids I watch, as well as my own child and myself. When a parent doesn’t want to get their child checked out or treated you have to decide if it’s worth having them around. Sick kids will just keep making others sick. And I want to kick the sick bug, not have it stick around more! I know we are exposed to germs everywhere, but watching a sick child for 12 hours in an inclosed space several days every week is very different.

We don’t use hand sanitizers so we are all washing hands more along with the other natural stuff to help prevent more sickness. Local honey, yogurt, kefir, kombucha, fresh veggies and fruit are all good ways to help boost your body and immune system. So here’s to hoping no one else gets sick and we get to see the flu make it’s final exit very soon!

Leave a Reply

