Live Create Believe

Just another awesome site!

Henna Hair Dye

on January 26, 2013

IMG1397-1

In the hunt for natural replacements for chemical filled items, hair dye is a common search. Hair dye is full of so many nasty chemicals, which is why it often will burn your scalp. In the hunt for natural alternatives you will come across henna. I wasn’t sure about trying it but I figured I’d give it a go. The complicated process is what I hesitated on. Now that I’ve tried it I can say that I love the color and the fact that it’s all natural, but boy is it a mess!

I purchases 100g of pure henna plus 100g of pure indigo to create a rich reddish brown color. I generally followed a recipe from Henna For Hair which has a lot of recipes for blondish, red, brown and black hair. I mixed my henna with half a cup of warm water as well as 6 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar. The recipe I chose wasn’t exact so I added and mixed until it looked like a green gritty yogurt mixture. Then I let it sit overnight, but I had an appointment and kids getting dropped off after so I didn’t get to it until it had been sitting for 24 hours. You only need to let it sit 8 to 12 from what I’ve read. I then mixed the indigo with warm water until I got the same texture as the henna, and I let that sit about 10 minutes. I then mixed the two together with some orange essential oil to help with the strong dirt smell.

The instructions on my indigo said to apply the henna first and then apply the indigo, but I chose to mix them and follow the instructions on the website. It was super messy! Next time I will try using a brush meant for hair dye because I just used my fingers to cover my hair and the dye got all over my bathroom. YOU MUST WEAR GLOVES BEFORE APPLYING THIS STUFF! It stained part of my door frame in the bathroom and stained part of my hand it got on. So plan to use a lot of towels that are black or that you don’t care if they get stained. I suggest applying coconut oil or another thick oil to the skin around your face, head, neck and ears to help prevent staining on those areas. I applied all the mixture and it became like a thick paste on my head that was kind of heavy. I rolled it into a thick bun, put a ponytail holder around it and then covered it in a shower cap. I left it on for 4 hours, though some of the recipes suggest only 3. I figured I’d do it longer just to be on the safe side.

It is also a huge mess to rinse it out! I got in the shower and it got everywhere so I’m thinking next time I’ll just lay back in the tub and do it under the tub faucet to contain the mess a little more. Make sure you wash it all off so it doesn’t stain your shower! You will have to rinse a lot and it feels super gritty while rinsing it out. I used conditioner to help get it out and help soften my hair. I rinsed it until the water was as clear as possible. Use a towel that you don’t care if it stains when you dry your hair in case all the color isn’t rinsed out. And don’t sleep on light colored sheets with a wet head for the same reason.

I am hoping next time will be less messy but I definitely like the results! My hair has a rich looking color that I love and I didn’t expose myself to any harmful chemicals. 🙂 It would be great if you could find a hair salon that would apply henna hair dye for you so you could avoid the mess of that part. All in all I’m happy with henna hair dye. The henna and indigo cost me $7.98 total which is a pretty low cost even compared with drugstore hair dyes. If you’ve tried henna hair dye feel free to share your experiences!

Leave a Reply

