Live Create Believe

Just another awesome site!

Homeschool Student Learning Aides Folder

on February 16, 2013

IMG1693

Homeschooling is fun for both my little girl and I. Enjoy being a part of her learning process and she enjoys gaining new knowledge with a sense of pride in doing so. We do a lot of learning from life, but we also use school books from several different curriculum. As we’ve gone along I’ve learned that there are certain things she will need on hand. We have an abacus as well as wood counting blocks and poker chips. She also has a foam clock with moveable hands that has the minutes written on it to help with time. One thing she kept needing was information on numerals and how to count by different numbers. So I got the idea to make her a folder with all the basic info she needed in one place organized in handy charts. This way it’s on hand for her to use whenever needed!

IMG1688

The first page is an ABC chart with uppercase and lowercase letters. Kids can forget how a letter looks from time to time so it’s helpful to keep one of these on hand. I tried to find fonts that looked as close to how she writes letters so it didn’t get confusing. I had to use a couple different fonts for different letters.

IMG1689

One of her newer math books teacher Roman numerals and asks her to turn regular numbers into numerals. I made her a chart with numerals from 1-100 so that way when she needs help she has a long list on hand. I also made her a basic subtraction chart to help with math.

IMG1690

On the other side of the subtraction chart is a basic addition chart. Next to it I created charts for her to county by 2’s and 3’s. These kind of charts can also be used by parents with the student to help drill them on each one. The subtraction and addition charts came from a teaching tools book and they are actually transparencies I wrote on with permanent marker. I put a white paper in between to two so you can’t see through them.

IMG1691

Next is counting by 4’s, 5’s, 6’s, 7’s, 8’s, 9’s and 10’s. I wanted her to have a chart for each number up to 100 so that way she could learn all of them. I did them in different colors using the table design on the computer document program.

IMG1692

Last is a hundreds chart which can also be used as a ones chart. This was also a transparency I put a paper behind. Next to it I wanted to make another clock for her to keep inside her notebook. I found a clock print out and I added the minutes to it. Next I cut a small X in the middle of the clock through the clear plastic cover and the print out. I attacked hands on the outside of the clear plastic cover using a brad so she could move the hands as needed but the printed out page would still be protected. It worked out really well!

IMG1697

Days of the week and months of the year is good to have too. I’ll probably update these as we go along but these were on our wall and I took them down to put in her book.

IMG1695

I just added a chart of polygons to help with math as well. Each page is put inside a clear plastic report cover you can get at most stores I did this to keep them lasting longer and so I could change them out as needed. I used a plain folder with brads inside to hold the pages. The nice thing about this is that you can add or remove pages as needed such a multiplication and division, fractions, the periodic table, etc. You can tailor this to each child’s needs and let them personalize it by decorating it themselves. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

