Live Create Believe

Just another awesome site!

Blu Ray Player w/ Built In Wifi – A Must Have!

on March 21, 2013

20130321_132638

I am a firm believer in living as simply as you can with the things that you need and the things that enrich your life. I don’t live a life full of expensive things and extravagances. However, I do believe there are some things that are worth spending a little extra. One of these items for our family is our newly acquired Blu Ray DVD player with built in Wifi. We had a simple and very basic DVD player that I bought used for $10. It was all we needed for a while. A few months ago I had internet installed at home and signed up for Netflix’s unlimited streaming program as well as Amazon Prime. I may end up not keeping both in the long run, but I wanted to try them both out to see which one we preferred. I was reading on the Netfilx website that you can stream to your TV with a compatible device. I had been interested in upgrading to a Blu Ray player for a while but wasn’t sure it was worth it. Let me just say – it is SO worth it!

I rarely pay full price for anything anymore, so of course I went deal shopping. I wanted on with built in Wifi so I wouldn’t have to buy any extra things for it. And I wanted a pretty good brand because I feel with an investment of this sort it’s better to buy a little nicer for better quality and because they tend to last longer. I found a Sony Blu Ray player with built in wifi on Ebay in an auction and I won it for $59.87. I researched them and the prices and I was very happy with the amount. If you have the time try for auctions first on more expensive items because sometimes you can get them a lot cheaper.

20130321_132537

It took maybe 30 minutes to get all setup, which wasn’t bad at all especially since it didn’t come with instructions. I followed the info on the screen as well as on the website. The thing I love the most about it is how many things I can link to it! We have Netflix and Amazon Prime linked as well as Pandora radio. Since I run a home daycare I am often using instrumental music for the kids to sleep to. It helps a lot and usually I just grab CD’s at the dollar store. Now I have my Pandora account linked so I just press a few buttons and a huge variety of classical and instrumental music plays for my kids. I love it! And my little girl also gets exposed to beautiful music and composers as well, which I love.

With Netflix’s unlimited streaming I may not buy many DVD’s anymore. I can find just about every kids movie or cartoon that my kids would want to watch. We’ve even found some new ones that the kids really enjoy. Another huge perk is that I can watch a show for me on my laptop and my daughter can watch a cartoon on the TV. It is so convenient!

20130321_135006

I highly recommend Netflix’s streaming program! It’s $7.99 a month, which is less than what it would cost you to buy a new DVD each month, and it’s unlimited with a massive variety. I love that I can now cut down on our DVD’s because we don’t really need as many of them anymore and about half of them were purchased just for the daycare kids. Now we can keep just the ones we want and Netflix everything else.

If you don’t have a Blu Ray player with built in Wifi, I highly recommend getting one especially if you have children! 🙂

Leave a Reply

