Live Create Believe

Just another awesome site!

The Magic School Bus Young Scientists Club – Bacteria and Fungi Kit

on March 25, 2013

20130323_183643

Mamapedia had a deal in February for a one year subscription to The Magic School Bus Young Scientist Science Club and it was at least 50% off. I am all for the educational deals they have and I know how much kids love to get mail, so I decided to look into it. There were a couple people on my homeschool groups who said the price was still too high, but for us I thought it wasn’t a bad cost. You get a kit mailed to you each month with several experiments in it. And to be honest, with running a home daycare and all the other things I have to do (like raising & homeschooling my daughter and taking care of our home and outside activities), I really loved the idea of a kit being mailed to us each month for us to work on and remind us to make time for fun science experiments! 🙂

20130323_184157

Our first kit just arrived and this was what was inside. You get an instruction book with all the info and you get most of the tools you will need. They actually email me a few days before they send it out and they include extra tips as well as a list of items you’ll need from home. I found that to be very helpful! My daughter was SUPER excited to receive her first package! She ripped it open (with assistance from mom) and asked to do them immediately – always a good sign! I was disappointed that both of our plastic petri dishes were cracked upon arrival. I put in a call to the company about it. I think we need to invest in some glass ones for future experiments.

20130323_184512

In the booklet you get info and instructions for your experiments. This kit has 7 experiments which I liked, and they are spaced out to make it last for a while as well. You get a small space to record results and conclusions, but I made my kiddo a science notebook for her to record info on our experiments in more detail and keep the info from all the kits we get in one place.

20130323_200937

Above is her science notebook, decorated by moi. 🙂 In our house we love decorating with stickers and pictures and I wanted to make this a special surprise for her to go along with her new kit. She loves it! This provides a lot more room for kids to write and draw after experiments.

20130323_190330

At the back of the booklet they have more instructions for parents to assist with the experiments. It’s pretty much the same info you get on the other pages.

I’ll post again when we’ve started the experiments so you can see what they look like in action and decide if this club would be good for your kiddos! Groupon and Mamapedia have offered the half off deal so keep an eye out for it to save a lot of money. You could also follow up each kit at your local library with books on the topic covered. We plan to go in this week and get books on bacteria and fungi to help with our learning. 🙂 The great thing about this resource and most others is that you can cater it to your needs and supplement if you want to. If you have tried The Magic School Bus Young Scientists Club let me know what you thought of it!

2 responses to “The Magic School Bus Young Scientists Club – Bacteria and Fungi Kit

  1. […] we received our Magic School Bus Young Scientists Club Kit both of the plastic petri dishes were broken. There was no way to use them so I decided glass petri […]

  2. […] we received our Magic School Bus Young Scientists Club Kit both of the plastic petri dishes were broken. There was no way to use them so I decided glass petri […]

Leave a Reply

