Live Create Believe

Just another awesome site!

Storage Container Litter Box for Cats

on October 1, 2013

container litter box title graphic

We now have two cats. We’ve had our 2 1/2 year old since she was about 8 months old, and we adopted a kitten in August. I have this great little nook in our bathroom where I could put their litter boxes. The problem is that their two separate boxes didn’t seem to be roomy enough, and they were using each others boxes so we didn’t need both anymore. While thinking over what to do, I got the great idea of creating a littler box from a plastic storage container. After a little researching online, I discovered a few others had the same idea. It seems super roomy, very cheap, and seemed easy to make.

First things first, I went to Walmart and got a container on sale for $4. Most litter boxes cost more than that! If you don’t have a box cutter at home, you will need one. I think they are around $4 at Walmart as well. I don’t know if you can do it with scissors, but I didn’t want to try. Using the box cutter was quick and simple.

 

20130930_195333_resized_1

When we got home I took my daughter’s ruler and marked the spaces I wanted to cut open for a door. As you can see, I had originally made it a bit smaller but my daughter told me I should make it wider for them. It was easy to enlarge. I added an inch extra on each side. The important thing is to not put your opening too close to the bottom! If you do, they will easily kick litter out of it or even possibly pee out of it. I made my opening 5 inches from the bottom. It is low enough for the kitten to get in, but high enough to keep litter and fluids inside it.

 

20130930_195358_resized

Next, cut out your door. This box had a neat little swooped down part in the plastic so I didn’t mark off the top of the door, I just cut under the swoop. Make your door big enough for your cats but not too big so litter can easily fly out. I am repeating this info because litter all over the floor is not fun. Use the box cutter to cut out the door. Please do not cut off your fingers or any other part of your body in this process! Only adults should be using the box cutter.

 

20130930_200357_resized

Voila you have an opening! And if you are like me, you have two cats who are annoyingly trying to get inside your container the entire process. You can use your box cutter to smooth our any areas or even up any areas. I recommend kicking the cats out before you do that so you don’t cut them either.

 

20130930_201827_resized_1

Just add your litter of choice and you are done! We chose a corncob cat litter to avoid the mess of clay and for the clumping action. The last little we used was pine pellet litter that expanded when it got wet to absorb more. The problem was that it did not clump at all. I had to empty out each smaller box every few days and do a major cleaning when using the pine pellet litter. It got to be frustrating to do and it would stink because I couldn’t get the urine spots out with a scoop. When you have a huge litter box like this, you don’t want to have to dump it all out and scrub it all down every few days because of non-clumping yuckies.

The corncob litter is great for clumping! I put fresh litter in the container right after I finished the opening, and my 2 year old cat got in to use it before I could even move it to the bathroom. I was able to quickly remove the the spot where she went to the bathroom with the scoop. If your cat has an upset stomach or there is a spot that sticks to the actual box, move all the clean litter to one side, then scrub the stuck on spot separately to avoid having to dump the whole box. This saves you money because you aren’t wasting massive amounts of litter.

I am not noticing much trace of corncob litter on my floors or anywhere else. With the pine pellets, it got stuff everywhere! I had to scrub my bath mat just to get stuck on moist pine pellets off. I’m enjoying this litter a lot and the cats have both had no hesitation using it.Ā  I added the two cat mats that were in front of their boxes just in case they needed to wipe off any litter. If you try this, let me know how it turns out for you. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

