Live Create Believe

Just another awesome site!

Pumpkin Painting Fun – DIY Halloween Project

on October 9, 2013

painting pumpkins blog graphic

Kids love to paint and make things. Kids love fun crafts. This works well for me because I love creating things too! I watch kids from home and one day of the week I have my daughter (7) and another older kiddo (9) who can handle messy projects without making a HUGE mess. We wanted something that would last longer than a carved pumpkin, plus it’s hard for young kids to carve them into something that resembles their original idea. Instead, we decided to paint ours pumpkins!

 

20131005_144351_resized

First of all, you will need pumpkins to paint and paint in fun colors. Don’t forget paint brushes and a bowl of water to rinse them in. Make sure to lay down lots of newspaper or sale sheets to protect your floor. And keep a couple towels or rags handy to wipe brushes, paint on hands or clean up spills. My daughter loves to paint as a hobby so we have LOTS of acrylic paint on hand at all times. I pick up paint at Hobby Lobby with their 40% off coupon and sometimes they have clearance paint for $1 and change.

 

20131005_144343_resized

These metallic paints are Kid Made Modern Shimmer Shine Paints from Target. They give a nice metallic color, though a few had to be mixed with solid colors to make them really show up on the orange pumpkins. This set of 8 paints was $8.99 + tax at Target. I loved the price and the quality! The kids enjoyed using them as well.

 

20131005_144328_resized

I had a few left over plastic container lids that were just sitting on my shelf so we used them for our paints. It worked out really well because the raised edge kept paint from spilling or dripping off. I used a piece of cardboard from recycling because I am less likely to spill paint. 🙂 We used plastic bowls and cups with water in them to rinse our brushes. We keep a large set of brushes on hand as well for my little artist.

 

20131005_143233_resized_1

We put down lots of sale sheets and even used an empty box to paint on. It was lots of messy fun! My daughter’s pumpkin is the top left, the other kiddo’s pumpkin is the top right, and mine is the bottom right. I loved seeing their creativity! They loved getting to paint, create their own unique pumpkin, and spend time together laughing and talking. It was a great way to bond with each other over something fun.

 

20131005_155452_resized

These are our finished pumpkins! My daughter’s is on the left, mine is in the back middle and the other kiddo’s is on the right. 🙂 I love how they turned out! The acrylic leaves the paint looking shiny and wet even when it dries. The kids were thrilled with their pumpkins and were excited to display them. I enjoyed the project too, and my pumpkin came out exactly how I wanted.

How does your family enjoy decorating pumpkins?

Leave a Reply

